Thursday, May 31, 2012

Review of Tangle of Need by Nalini Singh

Tangle of Need
(Psy-Changeling #11)
by Nalini Singh

Tangle of Need by Nalini Singh
Release Date (US): May 29, 2012
Publisher: Berkley Hardcover
Length: 432 pages


Genre: Paranormal Romance/Shifter
5♥s Outstanding/Don't Miss

"[He was] caught between the competing needs of a fidelity that would destroy him, and a silken betrayal that might tear him apart."
Riaz Delgado had found his one and only mate.

But her heart belonged to another.

Riaz returns to SnowDancer a broken man. There he butts heads with frosty Adria Morgan. Adria has returned to SnowDancer to heal from a bad love affair. Neither Riaz nor Adria is looking to enter into a relationship. However, their prickly interactions hide a growing attraction. As they give in to their desire, Riaz sees their developing relationship as a betrayal of his mate. "[His] need was tangled with the caustic taste of infidelity …"  Adria fears that she will always be second best. Can their relationship survive the ultimate trial and come through stronger? Or will they be torn apart by the cruelty of fate?

Not just a romance, Tangle of Need is a sweeping epic of the Psy-Changeling world. It continues story lines involving the Psy on the brink of civil war, danger to Sienna Lauren Snow, machinations of the mysterious Kaleb Krychek, developments with the Human Alliance, contact with the BlackSea clan, and more.


Tangle of Need is a richly layered baklava. Intricate plots are laid down one upon another and drenched with the honey of a poignant romance.

And poignant it is. Although the story of the romance between Riaz and Adria is short, it packs an emotional wallop. It's tear-jerking at times, and a resolution seems impossible. That impossibility will keep you reading long into the night as you hold out hope for the couple.

Speaking of romance, we also follow Hawke and Sienna throughout the book. Their scenes are part of an overall story arc, but they are also a gift to Hawke's and Sienna's fans.

Which leads us to Judd Lauren's fans. In a hilarious scene where art imitates life, Twilight fans are gently tweaked. I want the T-shirt.

Singh juggles many balls in Tangle of Need. In addition to the characters and plots already mentioned, Riley and Mercy are featured, as is patient Alice. The book ends on an intriguing sentence that will keep us guessing until the next book comes out. As of this writing, Singh says she isn't ready to announce the characters featured in the next book. Perhaps that would give away the ending of Tangle of Need. But I'm just guessing…

For those of you who need to catch up, the entire Psy-Changeling series is listed below in reading order.

Happy Reading!

An Enchanted Season
Psy-Changeling 0.5
Slave to Sensation
Psy-Changeling 1
Visions of Heat
Psy-Changeling 2
Caressed by Ice
Psy-Changeling 3
The Magical Christmas Cat
Psy-Changeling 3.5
Mine to Possess
Psy-Changeling 4
Hostage to Pleasure
Psy-Changeling 5
Branded by Fire
Psy-Changeling 6
Blaze of Memory
Psy-Changeling 7
Bonds of Justice
Psy-Changeling 8
Burning Up
Psy-Changeling 8.5
Play of Passion
Psy-Changeling 9
Kiss of Snow
Psy-Changeling 10
Tangle of Need
Psy-Changeling 11
Nalini Singh