Wednesday, September 19, 2012

Review of DARKNESS REBORN by Stephanie Rowe

Darkness Reborn
(Order of the Blade, #5)
by Stephanie Rowe

Darkness Reborn by Stephanie Rowe
Rating: 4♥s Very Good/Recommended
Sensuality: Hot
Cover: 4.0♥s
Genre: Paranormal Romance


Publisher: Stephanie Rowe
Publication Date: August 29, 2012
Length: Novel
Reading Level: Adult

Destruction or salvation?

Kane Santiago is a Calydon warrior and a member of an elite order that protects humanity against rogue Calydons. Kane can't remember his past, and doesn't know why he has ancient talismans carved into his skin or what they mean. He has a void inside him that has been taking on a dark and violent taint. 

Sarah Burns is the light to his dark, a special woman who is in danger from the rogue Calydons of her town. Kane, as a Calydon warrior on the verge of going rogue, is a man she shouldn't trust. He's unpredictable and could turn on her at any moment. Yet Kane has a powerful urge to keep her safe, and she has a powerful connection to him. Will he be her destruction, or will she be his salvation?


Kane is a hero who is tortured by the fact that he can't remember his past. He's afraid that there is a good reason he can't remember it. The darkness within him suggests that there is. When he meets Sarah, he finds someone to live for, someone he's driven to protect. Someone who is his. Because Kane strives to overcome the void and darkness within him to be a better person for Sarah, he is a noble, honorable hero you'll come to love.

Sarah is special in a way that I won't reveal. She is light, faith, and hope. She is Kane's opposite. But she has a tragic past and good reason to distrust and fear Kane. Sarah tries to stay away from him, but Fate binds them together as soul mates. Sarah is a heroine who has a strong moral compass and who has the ability to make difficult decisions when necessary. She's an admirable character.

Darkness Reborn moves quickly with plenty of action and fight scenes.The climax is page-turning. Tragedy befalls a favorite character from the series, though my guess is that we haven't seen the last of him. Although Kane and Sarah's story is concluded, the next story arc of the series is set up.

Ian's story, Darkness Arisen, is next. It will be good to see him get his Happily Ever After.

Have you read the Order of the Blade series? Are you interested in reading Darkness Reborn? Let me know in the comments!

Happy Reading!

Book 1
Darkness Awakened
Book 2
Darkness Seduced
Book 3
Darkness Surrendered
Novella 4
Forever in Darkness
Book 5
Darkness Reborn
Book 6
Darkness Arisen
Coming Early 2013

No comments:

Post a Comment