Sunday, November 4, 2012

Review of FOURTH GRAVE BENEATH MY FEET by Darynda Jones

Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet
(Charley Davidson, #4)
by Darynda Jones

Rating: 5♥s Outstanding/Don't Miss
Sensuality: Hot
Cover: 4♥s
Genre: Paranormal/Urban Fantasy

Publication Date: October 30, 2013
Length: Novel
Audience: Adult

Amazon US: Hardcover / Kindle Edition
B&N: Hardcover & NOOK Book

From the publisher:

In Darynda Jones's Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet, sometimes being the grim reaper really is that. Grim. And since Charley’s last case went so awry, she has taken a couple months off to wallow in the wonders of self-pity. But when a woman shows up on her doorstep convinced someone is trying to kill her, Charley has to force herself to rise above. Or at least get dressed. She quickly realizes something is amiss when everyone the woman knows swears she’s insane. The more they refute the woman’s story, the more Charley believes it.

In the meantime, the sexy, sultry son of Satan, Reyes Farrow, has been cleared of all charges. He is out of prison and out of Charley’s life, as per her wishes and several perfectly timed death threats. But his absence has put a serious crimp in her sex life. While there are other things to consider, like the fact that the city of Albuquerque has been taken hostage by an arsonist, Charley is having a difficult time staying away. Especially when it looks like Reyes may be involved. Just when life was returning to normal, Charley is thrust back into the world of crime, punishment, and the devil in blue jeans. 

Welcome back. I see the assassins have failed.  
When Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet opens, two months have passed since Charley was tortured by Earl Walker. Charley has hidden herself away with her dead aunt Lillian in Cookie's apartment, and is bingeing on the Buy From Home Channel. Financial troubles force her to get dressed and leave the apartment, and she stumbles upon Harper Lowell. Harper believes that someone is trying to kill her, though everyone around her thinks she's just trying to get attention. But Charlie believes Harper, and takes the case.

Also, Uncle Bob contacts Charley about consulting on a series of arson fires. And there are a series of bank robberies by a group known as the Gentlemen Thieves. Somehow, they look familiar to Charley.

But above all, Charley has a bold idea for getting out of financial trouble. She's going to present Reyes with a bill for her services, even though they are angry with each other. She finds out where he is working, and visits him at his surprising new job. There she discovers that she is in mortal danger. Charley and Reyes are thrown together, with explosive results. Can they work with each other to keep Charley safe? And what will happen between the two of them?

I just needed a minute to gather my wits. They were always running amok, wreaking havoc.
--Charley Davidson

Though she would deny it, Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet is the story of Charley's PTSD in the aftermath of her torture. Only Darynda Jones could take such a serious subject and lighten it without actually making fun of it. From Charley's droll friendship with Cookie, to bunny slippers as legitimate footwear, to boxes from the Buy From Home Channel piled high in her apartment, to an intervention that only Charley's friends and family could come up with and much more, you'll snicker out loud. (I know I did. On a cross-country flight, no less. I hope my seatmate didn't notice.) And yet your heart will also bruise and break along with Charley's. You won't want to miss a word as the book keeps you reading "just one more chapter ..."

I don't want to give away any spoilers regarding the relationship between Reyes and Charley. Let's just say that it takes a turn. Or two. Or a few.

There are many surprising revelations about a number of characters, including Charley and Reyes. Charley learns some things about her origins that are life-altering. She also hears some talk about Reyes that she doesn't know whether to believe. I think that these revelations will form the foundation for the future story arc.

Not all questions are answered at the end of Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet, no doubt leading into Fifth Grave Past the Light. That book is due to be released July 9, 2013. A sixth book is also planned. 

In the meantime, enjoy reading Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet!

Hi. I'm Trouble. I heard you were looking for me.


Here's trouble:

Book 1
First Grave on the Right
Story 1.5
For I Have Sinned
Book 2
Second Grave on the Left
Book 3
Third Grave Dead Ahead
Book 4
Fourth Grave
Beneath My Feet
Book 5
Fifth Grave
Past the Light

July 9, 2013 


  1. Squee!!!! Thank you!!!!

    (Okay, okay, it's me. I'm trying to be incognito. hehe)