Monday, August 5, 2013

THE DARKEST CRAVING by Gena Showalter Gets 4.5♥s

The Darkest Craving

(Lords of the Underworld, #10)
by Gena Showalter

The Darkest Craving cover
Rating: 4.5♥s Excellent / Highly Recommended
Cover rating: 3.5♥s
Sensuality: Hot
Audience: Adult
Length: Novel
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Release Date: July 30, 2013

My recap:

Kane, the keeper of Disaster, has been tortured in Hell for what seems like forever. Josephina Aisling, a half-fae, half-human woman, rescues Kane. Not knowing Josephina's name at first, Kane nicknames her Tinker Bell.

Kane and Tinker Bell end up in the Fae Realm, where the Lords of the Underworld are followed as celebrities. There, Kane learns Tinker Bell's secrets and the reason why she was in Hell in the first place. He is determined to change her circumstances.

But will he be around to see the results? He wants to rid himself of Disaster, and to do so will mean his death.

My thoughts:

Gena Showalter changed Kane from a morose, running joke and a walking disaster—literally—into a sexy, honorable hero. To kill Disaster, he's willing to die. He's emotionally scarred, and yet he has his funny moments. I love the nicknames he comes up with for Josephina. Tinker Bell is just the first one.

Tinker Bell is bright, cheerful, and hilarious. She's a huge fan of the Lords, especially Torin and Paris. Which irks Kane no end. I loved her from the moment I met her. She has a unique ability which gets her both into and out of trouble.

The book is fast-paced, with a couple of storylines running through it that I assume will play out in future Lords of the Underworld and Angels of the Dark books. Yet I didn't feel as if Kane and Tinker Bell's story was short-changed. It was fully developed and satisfying.

Gena has a new-found faith in God, and it shows in her recent books. There is a new morality to them. For instance, there is no pre-marital or pre-commitment sex, and the sex is more veiled than it used to be. Yes, the Lords of the Underworld series has changed. What hasn't changed is that she is still an excellent storyteller.


Don't Miss The Lords of the Underworld Series (with new covers for 2013):

Story 0.5
The Darkest Fire
Book 1
The Darkest Night
Book 2
The Darkest Kiss
Book 3
The Darkest Pleasure
Story 3.5
The Darkest Prison
Book 4
The Darkest Whisper
Story 4.5
in Heart of Darkness
0.5 & 3.5 & Guide
Into the Dark
Book 5
The Darkest Passion
Book 6
The Darkest Lie
Book 7
The Darkest Secret
Book 8
The Darkest Surrender
Book 9
The Darkest Seduction
Book 10
The Darkest Craving

Spin-off series, Angels of the Dark:
Book 1
Wicked Nights
Book 2
Beauty Awakened
Book 3
February 2014

No comments:

Post a Comment