Friday, December 27, 2013

REAVER by Larissa Ione Earns Top Rating!


(Lords of Deliverance, #5; Demonica, #10)

by Larissa Ione

Reaver Cover Image
Rating: 5♥s Outstanding / Don't Miss It
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Length: Novel
Audience: Adult
Sensuality: Hot
Release Date: December 17, 2013

History and Recap
Five thousand years ago, the angel Verrine fell in love with the angel Yenrieth. The relationship ended badly after Yenrieth fathered the four Horsemen of the Apocalypse with a succubus. Yenrieth's face was wiped from Verrine's memory, and Yenrieth's memory was completely wiped clean so that he could have a second chance.

Verrine made a vow to watch over Yenrieth's children since he couldn't. To that end, she became a fallen angel. Eventually, she became the Sheoulic Watcher of the Horsemen. She became the cynical, sometimes cruel, Harvester. Ultimately, she watched over the Horsemen opposite their Heavenly Watcher, Reaver.  They had a lust/hate relationship.

Reaver couldn't remember more than the past thirty years of his life, but then some of his memories were returned to him. He discovered that he was Yenrieth. Father of the Horsemen.

Then Harvester was betrayed as the Heavenly spy she was. She was condemned by Satan to suffer an eternity of torture in Sheoul.

When Reaver discovered that Harvester was actually a fallen hero, he vowed to rescue her from Sheoul.

Even though—if he survived—it would cost him his wings.

Or worse.

Yenreith was a bit of a jerk. Reaver is an angel to fall in love with. He's powerful, loyal, commanding, and has a hard body to wrap around. When he says to Harvester "… we're done … going through the bullshit," you want to stand up and cheer. He's also gentle, protective, and self-sacrificial. He's the perfect combination of hard and soft.

Harvester, the villain throughout the Lords of Deliverance novels, could have been a hard sell as a heroine. But Larissa Ione pulls it off very well, making her a sympathetic character as soon as she's introduced in Reaver. And you'll feel for her when you learn the extent of what Yenrieth did to her. You'll understand her motivations throughout Lords when you learn her backstory. But Ione is smart enough to know that we won't buy a complete turnaround for Harvester. She retains much of her snarky personality. This time, however, we like her for it.

Fans of Demonica will be happy to know that Eidolon and Wraith make appearances. They both have some great lines with Reaver. Wraith, especially, is hilarious. Limos plays a part in the plot, and Arik, Ares, Thanatos, and Reseph are all in the book.

Suspense, mystery, betrayals, and revelations keep the plot moving along at a fast pace. Ione has a talent for putting her characters into impossible situations that will have you holding your breath.

In the end, Reaver is a poignant story of a love/hate relationship forgotten and then remembered. With far different results.

Thank goodness.

A game-changing truth is revealed about the Sheoulic Watcher Revenant. His book, Revenant, is up next.

Until then, enjoy Reaver!

Reaver Cover Shoot, courtesy Larissa Ione
Reaver cover shoot
Courtesy of Larissa Ione

Final Cover

The Demonica/Lords of Deliverance Series:

Saturday, December 14, 2013

PRINCE OF SHADOWS by Tes Hilaire is Highly Recommended

Prince of Shadows

(Paladin Warriors, #3)

by Tes Hilaire

Cover: Prince of Shadows by Tes Hilaire
Rating: 4.5♥s Excellent / Highly Recommended
Audience: Adult
Sensuality: Hot
Length: Novel
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Release Date: December 3, 2013

My recap:

Valin is a Paladin, one of His Warriors. He protects humans from the evil that they aren't aware of and aren't capable of fighting.

Valin is the black sheep among the Warriors. He manipulates shadows to travel, whereas the Paladins are all about God's Light.

Gabriella is a mixed-breed, part-succubus vampire. Valin was attracted to her from the moment he met her. He went a bit crazy when he thought she'd died.

In Prince of Shadows, Valin catches a glimpse of her with a group of part-blood humans that she's training. And he sees a stain of evil on her soul that hadn't been there before. He's determined to remove that stain.

Because she is his.

But her vampire sire has other ideas.

My thoughts:

Valin is an alpha hero who is dark and deadly, and has a tragic past. But he's also protective of Gabby and even tender and vulnerable with her. And he's not about to let her go now that he's found her again. He'd do anything for her. And it does come down to "anything" in a fateful conclusion.

Gabby is a kick-butt heroine. But she feels unworthy of a Paladin because of her succubus mother and her vampire sire. Her biological father—whose identity she keeps to herself—inspires her to do what is right. But her insecurities keep her from succumbing to her love for Valin.

There are two secondary characters, Bennett and Annie, whose story is started in Prince of Shadows. Bennett begins to fall for Annie, kicking and screaming the whole way. It's fun to watch. I won't spoil things by telling you what happens, but suffice it to say that their story will continue in a later book. But not the next one. We'll have to wait a while for their HEA, according to Tes Hilaire.

Prince of Shadows is a hot book. Valin emphasizes making love verses having sex. Gabby wants to have sex without making love. In any case, the few love/sex scenes in the book are real scorchers. (Is it hot in here?)

The pace of the book is quick. From Valin's desperate bid to find Gabby to his desperate bid to keep her, you'll be turning the pages in between as fast as you can possibly read them.

Prince of Shadows is an excellent addition to the Paladin Warriors series. It can be read as a standalone book. However, the story arc will make more sense and be more enjoyable if it's read as a part of the series. Note: The timeline of Prince of Shadows runs concurrently with a portion of Deliver Me From Temptation, and ends before Temptation ends. Therefore, references to Temptation do not include the conclusion of that book.

The books in the series are listed below.  Tes says that there will be more Paladin Warriors novels in the future, though she has no release dates yet. We have something to look forward to!

Happy reading!


The books in the Paladin Warriors Series:

Book 1
Deliver Me
From Darkness
Book 2
Deliver Me From
Story 2.5
Deliver Me A Paladin
For Christmas
Book 3
Prince of Shadows