Monday, June 5, 2017

SOUL REAPING by Anne Hope Earns 4.5 Stars

Soul Reaping

(Dark Souls, Book #4)

Anne Hope

Rating: 4.5*s

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Audience: Adult

Sensuality: Hot

Length: Novel 

Release Date: July 1, 2017

***Mild Spoilers Ahead***

The Leader of the Watchers

Through three books and a novella we've followed Cal, leader of the Watchers. Cal has been harsh at times, and forgiving at others. But he's always been enigmatic. Some of the Watchers have guessed who and what his is/was, but none have known it all. And Anne Hope has kept the readers guessing, too. 

In the greatly anticipated SOUL REAPING, we finally learn it all. 

A Tragic Beginning

The author takes us back 6,000 years to when Cal was Calliel, an angel sent to earth to study humans. He ended up falling in love with and marrying Kleio, a human. They had a son, the original, soulless Nephilim. I'm going to stop their history there. Suffice it to say that they were torn apart for 6,000 years. 6,000 years during which Cal had to deal with what he'd unleashed upon the earth, and during which he grieved for his wife.

A Reunion

Events transpire to allow Kleio to come back into Cal's life as one of four Sacred Souls. Kleio rejoices to be with Cal again, but Cal has changed. He's had to make tough decisions, one of which he doesn't want Kleio to know about. She would never forgive him.

A Sacrifice

And now Cal has another difficult choice to make. To save the world from another Great Flood, he believes has to sacrifice the four Sacred Souls, including Kleio.

Mystery and Suspense

SOUL REAPING is full of mystery and suspense. Though one enemy has been slain, another has taken his place. And there is betrayal of the highest order. Even Cal's ally seems to be unable or unwilling to help. The possibility of sacrifice hangs over everyone's heads throughout the book, yet without sacrifice the world will die.

Heartbreak and a Fulfilling End

There is much heartbreak. But thank goodness it's ultimately a romance, and therefore there's an HEA! The series-ending Epilogue is fitting and fulfilling.

SOUL REAPING is a treasure-trove of Dark Souls history and Cal's motivation. It's a must-read for fans of the series. It is not, however, a standalone or for those new to the series. I highly recommend the series, and encourage you to start with Dark Souls Book #1,  Soul Bound.

My suggested reading order:
Soul Bound (Dark Souls, Book #1)
Soul Deep (Dark Souls, Book #2)
Soul Thief (Dark Souls, Novella, #0.5)
Soul Chase (Dark Souls, #3)
Soul Reaping (Dark Souls, #4)


No comments:

Post a Comment